The Monarch's Metamorphosis

Monarchs reach sexual maturity in the spring and begin mating all along their return migratory route from Mexico. The adult monarchs who made the trip down to Mexico in the fall don't make it all the way back to the U.S. it's their offspring who continue the cycle.

The complete life cycle of the butterfly is known as metamorphosis. The monarch goes through four stages of life: egg, caterpillar, chrysalis, and butterfly.

Click on the image of each stage to learn more about it.


Most butterflies, including monarchs, lay their eggs singly, one egg per leaf on specific plants.




The caterpillar remains on the plant where the egg was laid and feeds.



When the caterpillar molts for the last time, it forms a chrysalis. The body of a butterfly forms inside the chrysalis.






After about 14 days, the adult monarch butterfly emerges from its crysalis.





stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Twitter icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks

mother’s day cards & crafts

Let your kids
spoil you with



Healthy Smile Checklist for Kids
Have better dental check-ups with this free printable checklist that helps keep your child flossing, brushing, and smiling! Brought to you by Philips Sonicare.

Kindergarten Readiness App
It's kindergarten registration time! Use this interactive kindergarten readiness checklist, complete with fun games and activities, to practice the essential skills your child needs for this next big step. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

Top 10 Earth Day Books for Children
Celebrate the environment by reading some of these great children's books about Earth Day, recycling, planting trees, and all things green!

Prom Dress Trends for 2014
Check out 2014 prom dress trends inspired by celebrities’ red carpet looks, but with a price tag under $100!